James Walker
Vokes Walker Duo
Mahoney Walker Duo
East Shore
guest book
tour dates
weddings & parties
online store

Sound Files

If you are interested in any of these recordings, simply click on the title of the work to receive contact information, or use our "Inquiries" form:

Tracks from the CD Rhyme Or Reason are now available online at Apple's iTunes store:

click here for link

Are you a DJ or Programmer affiliated with a radio station? If you are interested in adding any of Jim's recordings to your playlist, please contact me using our "Inquiries" form:

Rhyme or Reason

recorded June-Aug. 1997

recorded at RealMusik Studios - Craig Brandt, engineer

all music composed and arranged by James Walker

  • James Walker (vb/mba/bells/pan/perc)
  • Ken Gioffre (saxophones)
  • Fareed Haque (gtr)
  • Liam Teague (pan)
  • Robert Chappell (kbd)
  • Craig Brandt (ac. bs/elec. bs)
  • Paul G. Ross (dr/pan)
  • Jeff Stitely (dr)
  • Erik Leckrone (perc)


Standards "Plus"

recorded Oct. 1999

track 2 recorded at Cliffsound Studios - Joel Rosenblatt, engineer

other tracks recorded at Malletjazz Studios - James Walker, engineer

  • James Walker (vb/dr)
  • Ken Gioffre (saxophones)
  • Robert Aries (pno)
  • Dave Anderson (elec. bs)
  • Dave Daddario (ac. bs)
  • Joel Rosenblatt (dr)

  • Stella By Starlight
  • What's Your Point?
  • Recorda Me
  • Freddie Freeloader
  • Sophisticated Lady
  • Triste
  • Softly As In A Morning Sunrise
  • Some Day My Prince Will Come

Recordings featuring James as a sideman:

Tiger On A Leash - Ken Gioffre


Ken Gioffre, tenor and soprano saxophones; Tom Guarna, guitar; Dave Anderson, bass; Brian Dunne, drum set; James Walker, vibraphone;

Compositions (all by Ken Gioffre):

Sabertooth; Cloistered; Balance; Hair of the Dog; Manifesto; Do No Harm; Dunne Deal; Three For All; Avant; Sunscream

recorded at Abel Productions, Norwalk, CT

mixed by Ken Gioffre and Ron Bach at LaMusica

One March - Paul G. Ross

Personnel (steel pan unless otherwise noted):

includes Paul G. Ross, steel pans and drum set; Liam Teague; Mark Smith; Joe Sonnefeldt; James Walker; Lana Wordel; Julie Stephens; Dave Ropinski; Paulette Frazier-Alexis; Ethan O'Connor; Kreg Moorhouse; Kevin Lehman; Glenn Donaldson, bass; Robert James, drum set and percussion

Compositions (by Paul G. Ross unless otherwise noted):

Diminishing Return; Calypso for Pan (Cliff Alexis); Fall; For The Day; Ron Doe; Yah (Kelvin Pope, arr. Ross); If She Only Knew/Evening Walk; Pan Hip; Realization

recorded March 1, 1996 at Boutelle Memorial Concert Hall, DeKalb, IL

recorded and mixed by Robert Chappell

Wintertide - Michael Branden


includes Michael Branden, guitars and vocals; Marc Berardo, acoustic guitar and vocals; Chris Berardo, vocals and conga drum; Steve Moore, drums and percussion; Kathy Chiavola, vocals; Dave Pomeroy, bass; Geoff Collins, harmonica; John Knupp, vocals; Briley Allen Branden, vocals and mandolin; Olivia Cadley Branden, vocals and shaker; James Walker, steel pan; Jerry Springer, vocals

Compositions (by Michael Branden unless otherwise noted):

Wintertide (Michael Branden & Matthew Burke); Ferris Wheel (Michael Branden & Marc Berardo); Chapel In The Canyon; Kauai; Out With The Buffalo; I Can Hear It Calling; Of Poetry And Pendants; Hey, Daddy! (Michael Branden & John C. Knupp); Petronia Street; Still In My Heart; Thunder In The Night; Angels, Elizabeth

recorded at Hayloft Studios, Milford, CT

Return to Taiwan - The NIU Steel Band


Northern Illinois University Steel Band, directed by G. Allan O'Connor and Cliff Alexis

Liam Teague, soloist


Mind Yuh Business (Len "Boogsie" Sharpe, arr. Alexis); Four Movements from Water Music (G. F. Handel, arr. Walker/O'Connor); Miss You Like Crazy (Masser, Goffin, & Glass, arr. Alexis); Variations Brasilieras (Robert Chappell); Generation Concerto (Ethan O'Connor); Setembro (Ivan Lins & Gil Peranzzetta, arr. Alexis); Misbehave (Len "Boogsie" Sharpe, arr. Alexis); Medley of Taiwanese Folks Songs:  I. The Train Song  II. White Jasmine Flowers In The Sixth Moon (traditional, arr. O'Connor)

recorded and mixed by Robert Chappell